At its annual meeting, the SDARL Board of Directors elected two new directors to serve on the board. Sara Steever, Chief Technology Officer of agriculture-focused Paulsen Marketing, will begin her first term. Terry Jaspers (SDARL III) of Sisseton, who recently retired from Farm Credit Services, returns to the SDARL board and will serve as Treasurer.

The board recognized the service of two outgoing members. Nathan Sparks (SDARL II), pictured at left above with Board President Todd Mortenson (SDARL VI), served on the SDARL Alumni Board before the organization merged with the leadership program in 2016. He finished his second 3-year term and is required to step down according to the bylaws. Also leaving the board is Michelle Rook. The veteran farm broadcaster has accepted a new position at the US Farm Report.

The SDARL Board of Directors is comprised of 15 members. According to the SDARL bylaws, a majority of the members must be graduates of the SDARL leadership program. The Secretary of Agriculture in South Dakota and the Dean of the College of Agriculture, Food, and Environmental Sciences at South Dakota State University serve as Ex Officio members.


January 15, 2023

Congratulations SDARL Family

Check out the SDARL Life Events Celebrations and Recognitions for September 2022 CONGRATULATIONS to you all and welcome to the SDARL family for the new …

December 21, 2022

SDARL Announces Janelle Booth New CEO

SDARL Announces Janelle Booth as New CEO  Brookings, SD – The Board of Directors of the South Dakota Agricultural and Rural Leadership (SDARL) Foundation is …

December 19, 2022

Dacotah Bank Seminar on Environment, Biofuels, and Innovation Held Virtually Due to Blizzard

During COVID, the SDARL board made the decision to hold off proceeding with Class XI Seminars so that class members could experience the full depth …

December 5, 2022

CEO Don Norton Retires

After five years as CEO of South Dakota Agriculture and Rural Leadership, Don Norton has retired.  His last official event was the Agtergra Seminar on …

Sign up for our newsletter

* indicates required fields