Shane Odegaard (SDARL VI) was elected President of the South Dakota Pork Producers Council at the 52nd Annual Pork Congress held in Sioux Falls January 13-14, 2021. Odegaard operates a family farm near Lake Preston. He also received the “Pork All-American” award, presented by outgoing President Craig Andersen (at left with Shane in photo below).

You can read more about Shane in this article in the TriState Neighbor HERE.  SDARL graduates and class members were present at the meeting as participants and presenters. Pictured below are Dr. Robert Thaler (SDARL III), Tanya Torguson (SDARL XI), Ray Epp (SDARL V), Lynn Hurley (SDARL III), and Shane Odegaard (SDARL VI).

SDARL CEO Don Norton, pictured below, presented an overview of the flagship 18-month leadership program.

Also announced at the Pork Congress were three Pork Ambassadors for 2021. One of the ambassadors is Kyra Schenk, daughter of Nancy and Karl Schenk (SDARL IV). Kyra is studying Animal Science at SDSU. You can read about the ambassadors HERE.


September 27, 2023

Join Class XII for an Evening with Coach Stig and President Dunn

SDARL alumni and friends are invited to join Class XII in Brookings on December 12, 2023 for “An Evening with Coach Stig and President Dunn.” …

September 14, 2023

Walt Bones (Class II) Inducted Into the South Dakota Hall of Fame

A Caring Advocate for Agriculture Article credit: South Dakota Hall of Fame When Walt Bones is asked to serve, he says “yes!” From serving as …

September 14, 2023

West River Golf Tournament Recap

Thank you and congratulations to all the players, winners, and sponsors of the SDARL West River Golf Tournament on September 7, 2023! It was a …

September 14, 2023

Beef Bowl Tailgate!

It was a fun day in Brookings at the SDARL tailgate event with Zoetis on September 9, 2023. Hosted by Craig Dybedahl (Class II) and Matt …

Sign up for our newsletter

* indicates required fields